How do I get the 'perfect' body clip?

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I'm new to showing minis, and really want to know how to get that perfect body clip. Its mostly like me, but I can't get the clippers to stop leaving horrible lines, and I try and get rid of them, and it makes more. I have gone through 2 sets of clippers, one oster and one andis, and I can't get the hang of it. I have used a 10 blade because that is all I had, and recently I used a 30, and did a horrible job. I tried the wide andis blade, unsure of what number, and I didn't like it. What blade should I use for the body, the face and legs? Currently I don't have a pair of clippers that function right
default_sad.png
My osters heated up extremely hot, I used them for maybe 5 minutes the second time I used them, and that was it, stopped cutting, and now make a grinding noise. The andis ones aren't super quiet anymore and I don't know what I did to break them. The mini was clean and recently bathed that day.

Any advice on how to get a perfect body clip for shows would be great! Also I have another question, how do I properly razor the hair around his eyes and muzzle off, and what should I use for doing that?

Heres a picture of me and my mini at a show, the clip job was not impressive compared to other horses.

247647_223840737629136_100000096339712_926733_2995676_n.jpg

I'm no expert, but here are some tips that may help you out--

1. Make sure your horse is CLEAN !! A dirty horse will dull the blades quickly which makes them useless. After the horse's bath make sure they are mostly/totally dry--adding a show sheen can help the blades glide smoothly.

2. Use a blade wash before and after clipping

3. Apply oil to clippers--let it run in and dab off extra

4. Clip with an even pressure-- it takes time and practice to develop a steady hand.