Hello there!

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Pippin'

Reaction score
Hi, I'm extremely new to the world of Miniature Horses though not so new to horses in general. I'm seventeen and from Queen Creek, AZ. My mom owned horses when she was a teenager but had to sell them when she had kids so I rode at a lesson barn and the Renaissance Fair until sixth grade when my mom leased a big Thoroughbred gelding named Glory for me to show in 4-H. I only rode Glory for a few months because right before our first show (about three hours before) something spooked him and I fell and broke my arm. After Glory we didn't have another horse for a year or so but I still took lessons, though more Western than English this time. When I was in 7th grade my mom adopted a 3yr old Mustang mare from BLM. She trained the mare, River, until it was time for her to be under saddle and hen she sent her to a trainer friend. He trained River and the two bonded better then my mom and her so my mom sold River to him. We went through a few more horses until we got to the mixed up herd we have now. Our herd consists of two Thoroughbred geldings named Finn and Dante, a grade Pony mare named Tempest, a registered Quarter Horse named Vegas, a Polish Arabian gelding named Rooster, a grade pinto gelding named Ace, and of course the whole reason I joined a little grade Miniature gelding named Pippin. The majority of the horses are my mom's and sister's but Ace and Pippin are mine.

Other than horses our lives are run by four dogs, four cats, two guinnea pigs, eight rabbits, two goats, and an ever changing amount of chickens. Most of the animals are 4-H projects but my mom and I are starting to breed and show Bantam Buff Brahmas (chicken) and Mini Lops (rabbits) outside of 4-H. Yeah, we are a bit insane...