Harness Critique

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

spudthemini

Reaction score
Good Morning (and Happy Holidays/ Merry Christmas)!

A short background summary: Spud and I are both green to driving and need some help/tips.

Long-winded background: I purchased Spud back in September and sent him to a driving trainer. He had been harnessed and ground driven extensively before I bought him. He spent 2 months at the trainer's being broke to cart. I brought him home at the end of November and started to drive him. We haven't had any issues (other than not walking a straight line, being fussy about stopping and standing, etc) that are of major impact, just "greenness" issues. However, I am very new to driving and have never had a lesson before. Let me preface by saying there are no trainers in my area that do driving training - I have sent out multiple requests to several people to see if they could help me understanding harnessing and rigging it up to the cart, but I have so far only relied on the Trainer I sent him to (who is over 12hrs away) and articles on the web.

Yesterday I purchased two books, "Breaking & Training the Driving Horse" by Doris Ganton and "Train Your Miniature Horse to Drive" by Pat Elder. They should be arriving within the next 3-4 days.

I am just looking for a helpful critique and some pointers so my gelding and I can drive safely, efficiently, and progress in a positive manner. He is an exceptionally willing and down to work little guy and I do not want to risk ruining him or causing undue stress.

photo 3.jpeg

^ This was my first time rigging things up. I went without breeching because I found it confusing and wasn't sure how to attach it safely/appropriately. I can already see glaring faults with the way I've rigged it up - namely the attachment of the bellyband.