Getting beautiful little filly in September......Questions???

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

misty'smom

Reaction score
Hello,

I am new to Minis but not to horses, I grew up with horses but have not owned one since I was 18 (that was a long time ago!!!!). I just retired last year from teaching kindergarten and my children all all grown up. I have a 18 month granddaughter and a 2 month granddaughter and would like them to have the opportunity when they get older to have the fun experience of horses. I researched owning a mini for over a year and felt like it would be a good fit for my family. I found a filly only 20 mins away when she was 10 days old and went to see her right away. After a couple of visits I was in love and so "Misty" will be coming to our home in Sept. We are now in the process of fencing in our vacant lot next to our home/yard and building a small pole barn, I am so excited!! The breeder where she is coming from has been very helpful and we have chatted many times to bring me up to speed on the mini care vs big horse. Now for a few questions to throw out there for some advice from others with experience.........she also has a dwarf that was born 2 weeks before Misty, the breeder is not proud of this and she had no idea as both her mare and stallion were new at her farm. Needless to say she will not breed them again! But she is still looking to sell Josie and only to a good home that will keep her as a pet. I am thinking of giving her that forever home and giving Misty a companion. I have read as much I can find on the dwarfs but would like some opinions???? I will try to attach photo of Josie and of course Misty too. I have read that there are different degrees of dwarfs and that they have health issues. Any info or advice to help me make a decision I would appreciate. Oh and sorry for such a long post!!!! I