First Mini

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lesean1977

Reaction score
Hi

Im totally new to the world of minis. I have ridden all my life though so Im not new to horses in general.I got this little girl off of craigslist in south carolina. Shes 4 years old and as far as I know the man had had her since she was just a small baby. She hasnt been handled a whole lot other than being caught and brushed and his grandkids play with her some. The previous owner said she can be a little hard to catch but in the few days shes been with us she learned very quickly that it wasnt such a bad thing. She is calm, my 10 year old daughter can handle her without any trouble. She still needs to be vetted and dewormed most likely. The previous owner did nothing with her in the four years he had her. That is being done in two weeks. She was on a dry lot as far as I know, on my property she has a backyard with half grass the rest shaded then the front yard( in the pics)she gets to hand graze for a small amount of time. Thats where my questions begin.. is with feeding. Should I supplement with hay? I have been told she doesnt really need feed. Just grass and possibly hay through the winter. Shes been on grass for almost a week now and seems content. She grazes but does laze around under the trees also so she isnt gorging on the grass available. I would love any tips or tricks for training. Im most familiar with Clinton Anderson style training so I have been doing a little of that. She is a little sluggish in response to the lead rope and correction in general. So I assume she is just a lower energy horse. I would love to eventually train her to drive thought that would be a fun project for my daughter and I. If she is suited for it. So if any one is in the Charleston SC area and has experience I would love to pick your brain. Any other advise is welc