Dwarf for a Special Purpose

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LyndaA

Reaction score
I am by no means an advocate of breeding for dwarfism. I am aware that many of these little horses end up with painful deformities and health problems, but I also know that just by chance sometimes a dwarf is born.

I have a 12 year old mini that I have done pet therapy with for several years. I am a registered nurse and a huge advocate for alternative therapies in hopsitals, nursing homes, and even for children with special needs/disabilities. I love my mini (Magic) and we both love the joy that we bring to others. I have owned him for 11 years. The problem is that even at 34 inches, he is still too big to access all areas we would like to go.

I want to offer a wonderful life-long home to a dwarf. He/She would live out its days in a paddock right behind my house with my other mini and 2 pygmy goats. My new horse would only travel for pet therapy about once a month. Every other day he/she would just be spoiled and adored by myself and my three children. My new horse would need to be quite small, of course, with a good temperament. Nothing else matters (color, sex, comformation, age, etc.) I would even consider a special needs case.

I can afford to give all of my animals any care they will ever need but because I do not want to encourage the breeding of a dwarf, ethically, I can't pay a large purchase price for one. I would be willing to pay a reasonable adoption fee.

Please contact me or pass along my information if you know of a special little horse in need of a great home with a special purpose!

I am located in Virginia but willing to drive up to 3 hours for the right horse.

Thank you,

Lynda

[email protected]

That's wonderful Lynda. What a huge heart you have. I'll be sure we keep our eyes and ears open for you.