Does My Mini Look Like She Could Be Show Quality?

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kay56649

Reaction score
I had a mini foal born this spring and is a buckeroo great great granddaughter! From the pictures I have posted, does she look like she could be show quality? I am new to the mini horse showing world, so I would love some input! I'm just wondering if she could be a halter mini, a driving mini, or a jumping mini! If you have an idea or anything, please post it!

Josie 8.jpg

Josie posing.jpg

I'm not an expert but I don't think there is enough pictures (front, back, body clipped) to really tell if she is halter quality. Her legs seem straight in the picture on right.

IMO, any young horse like this has potential to be a good driving or jumping horse.

Any young horse in general or with her trotting form? I will post more pics but does her conformation look ok?

From these pictures, no to a halter horse. She looks to have a weak rear end which looks to give her a low tail set. She has a straight shoulder, short neck and a small eye. She also looks like she toes out in the back. As mshasta88 said, could be the pictures but you asked. Now could she be a driving horse or a jumping horse, only two and half to three years will tell you that. But again with these pictures I am going to also say no to driving, she looks to have a straight shoulder which would not let her extend like she would have to do to be a top driving horse. Jumping you just never know until you start training.