Does anyone know how long "expired wormer" would still be effective?

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sanny

Reaction score
Awesome price...but only if the wormer is still effective and I have no idea if it is or not. Does anyone else know the answer or is there anyway of knowing for sure?

I think I saw this question once here on the forum but I couldn't find it when I searched.

They have a couple of cases which will probably sell out right away....at .50 a tube

No clue, but here's a bump
default_yes.gif

I believe the standard expiration date is 1 year. Probably effective after that but depends on how it was stored during the time they had it. I worked in a hospital pharmacy for 12 years and we had lots of "dated" drugs that we pulled from the shelves as expired but actually the company said had a 5+ year shelf life. The government stockpiles lots of drugs and they evidently have a longer shelf life than what is retailed.

Maybe you could contact the company and see what they say? You may have lost this batch already at that price but you would know for future "deals". It may depend on the preservative added and again, how the retailer stored it. I buy short dated wormer occasionally but go ahead and give it then.

I normally never have a issue with expired dewormer. However somebody switched my bottles around on me and I was useing the newer bottle first. The other bottle was over a year expired. It worked, never had issues, however I wouldnt go past a year.