Devil the WonderHorse

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

shalakominiatureshowhorses

Reaction score
Devil has really come far in just a year. Anyone who meets him for the first time wonders why his name is Devil. Well, he was a real Devil! He would be like a bratty kid, not aggressive, but he really liked to push my buttons. I really honestly didn't know what I was going to do with him, behavior wise. Then I learned about trick training.

Why not direct his bratty behavior into something fun? I started studying off of YouTube videos and started from there. His first trick was rear. Before anyone tells me different, I would like to say that we are a safe distance away from each other during this trick, and we do it rarely. Then, he learned to lay down, which by that he taught himself to sit! He is a cutie. Every time I ask for him to lay down, he automatically sits on voice command. He also knows "hoof". When I lift up my left leg, he paws or holds his left leg in the air, same thing goes for the right also. I am trying to teach him the Spanish walk, not working so far ;). But that's okay, in surprised he has learned this much!

And to top it off, he knows how to, what I call, "freestyle". I don't need to use a lead or a halter anymore when we are doing tricks. He has learned to go off of voice commands to do his tricks. If anyone has seen Clinton Anderson and his mare Mindy, their performance on the ground is close to what we are doing. Devil knows when I start to lengthen my jog, he is supposed to trot. When I start pumping my arms when I am running, he is to loap. All the while his shoulder stays by my thigh. He has gotten really good. I'm so proud if him. On Sunday, I took him to a driving clinic (I posted on the driving forum.) just to hang out. We played around in the round pen, and his concentration is on me at all times!