Close to foaling ???---Day 346-we lost our colt :(

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

amyjoy85

Reaction score
My wonderful girl, Sadie, is showing signs of foaling, but not sure about it. She is a 7yr old maiden mare (and I'm new to breeding too). She was put in the pasture with our stallion on April 14, 2013 when our other girl had a nasty 4 day colic (many trips to the vet, but I digress). We decided to leave her in the pasture with her "boyfriend" and see if we could get a foal this year. We tried one other year, but nothing came of it. Well, some pasture breeding happened on April 18 (saw it happen while washing dishes) and she never came back in heat. This puts her at 302 days. This morning I noticed that our stallion was paying TONS of attention to her like she was coming in heat. She ended up kicking out at him...poor guy. So, not sure if she is coming in heat or showing signs of foaling. She has been pastured with him since April. Struck me as odd. Any thoughts??

She has been holding her tail up, possibly sinking hips, looks like her udder is larger than normal-but not much, has quite the belly under her winter woolies, and I can't tell if she is elongating at all. I tried getting some milk to see what it looked like/felt like, but didn't work. I didn't want to push the issue much. This morning it looked like there was a tad bit of something on her vulva, but may have just been some kind of who knows what. I took some pictures tonight...not the greatest, but they are pictures I can compare over the next while. She is still eating and drinking normal. I will be continuing to take pics so I can compare them over time.