Clipping minis?

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

Carly Rae

Reaction score
Hi,

So, Last year for my birthday I got a good set of 'WAHL' horse clippers and stencils. I was just wondering when is the best time to clip them? and how much fur should you leave on them? If anyone has any tips for me and when I should clip them I would really appreciate it. Also if anyone has found any helpful youtube videos on clipping minis that would be great!

Thanks

Lepeppylass

Reaction score
I'm no expert, but I have body shaved big horses plenty, I just reviewed videos of body clipping online and adapted those tips/techniques to shaving down my mini. I don't show yet so I leave mine in full winter woolies until the overnight lows stay above 45 degrees in the spring. Then I shave them down with a 10 blade against the grain in long smooth strokes. If I don't have any big plans for showing I leave their legs fluffy to help keep their little joints/legs warm. I have never used a stencil, not sure how those would go! My best advice is that hair will grow back, and we all get better the more we practice!

Carly Rae

Reaction score
I have used stencils may times on my minis but I have only done a few full body clippings before so I just wanted to know
Thanks

Carly Rae

Reaction score
At my place we are getting 13 degree Celsius (55 degrees Fahrenheit) nights and 20 degree Celsius days (68 degrees Fahrenheit) Do you think I should wait a while longer or should it be fine? Toby and Kevin wwaer light coats everyday and I have 2 winter rugs for Willow and Snickas too.

Carly Rae

Reaction score