Clipping for a Show

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I am going to a show at the end of August. I am taking 4, possibly 5. I'm 17 and do all the clipping and grooming myself. This will be my second show, but my first show I only took one horse so this is a big step up! I have several questions for you experienced show people!

Obviously, I am not going to be able to clip 4 or 5 the same day. I am fairly new to clipping so it takes me a little while longer. I take my time and I do not leave clipper marks. Also, clipping with Double Ks and give a bath/condition before clipping. So, I'm trying to figure out which ones would do better with an extra day or two to grow out their hair. My colors that I am showing include a cremello, Bay pinto (90% white), a silver dapple splash overo (80% silver dapple) and a bay pinto (80% bay). Do the ones with more white do better being clipped multiple days before or waiting closer to the show? What blade should I clip each one with? I usually do a 15 or 30 for body clipping, I would imagine color would play a role in what size blade to use. Also, how many days before the show should I body clip each one?

Another question, my silver dapple colts mane is an ugly color - sun bleached and his baby mane on the ends. He is a yearling. His tail is white and his mane is sun bleached on top and some dark grey/silver underneath. Any ideas what I should do with it? Should I dye his mane? Any help is much appreciate!! PLEASE no rude comments
default_smile.png

Cant suggest anything for show clips but others, that do show, will help. I just want to say...you are a very brave lady!! 4 maybe 5 for your second show? good for you!! That's a lot of work and I hope you have friends to help you out. Good luck and have fun.....don't forget the camera and come back and let us know how you did!!