Clicker training, who uses it and do you find it helpful?

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cassie

Reaction score
Hi Everyone,
default_saludando.gif

I have a 6 month old colt that I am currently halter training, this is my first time I will be training a horse to do anything. all my other horses have been older and already trained.

So I am learning as much as he is if not more lol.

I have been reading and watching you tube clips on training and have noticed alot of people using the new clicker training. I looked it up and it seems to be a very good way of positive reinforcement and training.

So can you lovely mini horse people share with me how you train your foals/ horses.

do any of you use clicker training and do you find it good? or do you stay away from it and if so why?

I am just researching at the moment and haven't bought a 'clicker' yet so any information good or bad you could provide is much appreciated.

Thanks everyone
default_smile.png

Cassie

Last edited by a moderator:
I use clicker training with my dogs and love it. But I have concerns over using it with horses, but some of those concerns have to do with food aggression and large mooches. They're enough of a mooch when I give them an occasional treat and once food aggression starts, it's a hard habit to break with a horse. Of course we're dealing with mini's instead of the large horses that I'm more familiar with so I'd be interested to read others perspectives.