Choosing a cart

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Grace67

Reaction score
Found my perfect mini driving gelding and now I'm ready to start cart shopping. I'm new to driving but my horse has been shown in AMHA country pleasure and also has trail driving experience, he has an engine and likes to be driven with contact. He is 34 inches and probably about 250 pounds. I have some physical issues, namely a newly replaced knee, so I need something that is easy to step in and out of and also allows for some leg room as its tough to sit for long periods of time unless I can stretch that leg out a bit now and then.

Have a small lava sand arena at home (100 x 100) that is not perfectly level (has a slight slope to it) nor is it perfectly groomed so some spots may be deeper than others. Also have 30 acres of vineyards to drive out in but those roads are not perfectly groomed either and there are ground covering weeds with puncture thorns on them that will flatten pneumatic tires very quickly. Depending on the time of year the roads can be hard packed and somewhat rocky or mucky and somewhat slick in the wet months.

No set idea right now of which direction I want to go in as far as showing.....rail classes, obstacles, CDE type work, driven dressage......it all sounds interesting and fun! Is there such a thing as an all around cart that can be used for multi purposes for someone who is just starting out? What specific things should I be looking for in terms of materials, style and craftsmanship, etc? What to stay away from?

Help!