Anyone ever use a refractometer

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Becky

Reaction score
I am wondering what range the milk needs to be in to determine that foaling is imminent. I tested one of my mare's tonight and her milk is at 24 which is in the 'Good' range. Do they always go 30+ (Very Good) before foaling or not?
default_wacko.png

Becky.

I guess I wasn't aware the reading was acurate before foaling?? When you look in the Refractometer the level should be over 40 to 50 (depends on the scale that particular unit shows to). Best is when it's all one solid color. This is my first year messing with one. Just in case you don't know.....Make sure you zero it out with distilled water in whatever temperature you're going to test the milk so the unit is the same temp as the air temp in which you are testing it.

I know that was as clear as mud LOL!

Joy

Hello...

My friend has a colostrum refractometer, which we were using to test the milk to see if there was a correlation between the level of colostrum and then when the mare foaled.

This tool is SUPPOSED to be for testing the milk to see what quality of colostrum the foal is receiving. Right after the mare foals, but before the foal nurses, you are supposed to test.

Well the mare last month that we tested, tested VERY GOOD (27) and foaled THREE DAYS later. Unfortunately, she was also dripping milk. We watched the level of colostrum then drop over the few days down to 13. The iGg test on the foal is very low.

I don't think that it is an accurate tool for predicting a foal, but it can be an additional element you can use to see how close they are.

Andrea