Adding older gelded stallion to herd

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Renee

Reaction score
I have an 8 year old stallion that I am going to be gelding this fall. I'm not going to be using him anymore and would like for him to be able to join my herd. He's not an overly aggressive stallion and does not run the fence line when there are mares on the other side. My herd of 12 is a mix of mares and geldings and my pastures are quite large. Has anyone put an older gelded stallion out with a herd? I know I will have to wait a few months for the hormones to settle down. I think I heard it was 1 month for every year old they are. Any thoughts or comments would be helpful.

Renee

Hi Renee, Im no expert but I can tell you what its like with my gelding. He was a stud and out in the pasture w/mares for 10yrs. before I purchased him. He was gelded 1 mo. before I got him. When he first arrived ( only horse here )he was a love bug, absolute joy! he was fine when we got our next gelding...they were good buddies. A year later I purchased 2 mares....was very studdy the first week and I actually saw him attempt to mount 1 mare. She had a come to Jesus meeting with him and that put an end to him ever attempting to mate either mare. It only happened that one time as far as I could tell. But he would follow the mares around all the time and really got quite a crush on one particular mare...shared stall and hay. But he hated the other gelding even getting close to ANY of the mares...put his ears right back and would charge him...nothing bad, no bites or kicks but to this day he just thinks that all mares on this property belong to him. Its sounds like its bad but it really isnt anymore.....I just feel bad for the other gelding because he seemed to be getting pushed away from the girls.