3 rescued minis need some feed suggestion

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

shoegirl

Reaction score
I rescued 3 minis this past weekend. The two geldings are in better condition than this tiny mare. She is 14 years old 29" tall and very, very, very thin. They arrived with a couple scoops of Vintage Senior and a bale of hay. Vet says her teeth are fine.

Any suggestions on feeding her? Supplements? A special diet.

I have plenty of horse experience but when it comes to this thin I just want to do what is best for her.

Thanks for any advice at all.

The main thing is to feed up slowly. Most literature and my opinion is that alfalfa is best for thin horses or an alfalfa/grass mix. But if you cant get that grass will work too. Numerous small feedings thru out the day work best. But start very slow. I would also get her on Purina Senior Complete feed. Start very small and as she adjust gradually up the grain. I dont like to deworm thin horses until they are eating good and starting to gain weight. With a recent one I had we fed 4 small meals per day until the horse started gaining then 3 larger meals per day as the horse did better. Thinking good thoughts for you!

The above post sounds like good advice to me. You might also add in some beet pulp. It is easily absorbed into the system and has good carbohydrates. Maybe just a cup once or twice a day mixed in with the senior feed. (Measure a cup of dry and then soak it and mix it) A few tablespoons of vegetable oil on the feed might help as well. Best wishes!

Definitely what Kay suggests works wonders.

Be careful about the sugars in the spring grass. Introduce it to them slowly, everything slowly.

When you feel they are strong enough to de-worm, start out with Safe Guard, for 5 days in a row. But I'd let them get a bit stabilized first. Good luck and best wishes to you.