Foaling Vet Supplies

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Deserae

Reaction score
Greetings all,

I am new to the world of miniature horses and wasn't expecting to have foaling expected so soon. I've only had her for a week and she's bagged up pretty good! I am thinking she will foal by Christmas.

Located in Minnesota

Looking for advice on vet supplies for both mom and baby. I've read a lot about diarrhea in both. BioSponge comes up a lot.

Here are my questions:

1. Wondering what everyone recommends for necessary supplies/supplements in their foaling kit as well as dosage.

2. Any special diet for mom?
*currently, fine stem grass hay, 1 cup of 10% sweet feed in the morning, 1 horse cookie in the evening.*

3. I have a foaling stall set up in our barn and am curious about what everyone else has in their barn? 🥰

Any advice is appreciated as I only have experience in larger horses.

Thank you all in advance for your advice! ❤

Oh boy! Welcome to breeding! Were you aware your mare was in foal when you acquired her or was this a surprise to you?
Fortunately mares are usually pretty good at dealing with foaling on their own. But if they need help, it usually needs intervention quickly. What I keep is a towel, iodine for the navel, a stall or small paddock well bedded in clean straw, I put tails up to keep things clean when it's close to time, and a baby enema in case the foal is having a hard time passing first poops.
As far as watching for foaling time, udders bagging up can mean it's right around the corner, or it's a month or more away. If you're able to, express a small amount of fluid from the teat and check it's pH and colour. 12-24 hours prior to foaling, the colour will change from mostly clear to milky white and the pH will drop.