feeding beet pulp and enteroliths

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

luvsminis

Reaction score
I have been feeding beet pulp to my miniatures for about 3 yrs now, and I haven't had a problem. However, I was reading the article on www.southernstates.com that said "don't feed beet pulp to miniature horses due to the high risk of enteroliths". They claim it is because of the high amount of calcium in the beet pulp that would cause a calcium build up i.e. causing enteroliths. I give my little guys 1-2 cups in the morning and 1-2 cups at night with their low starch/low sugar pellets (50% pellets and 50% beet pulp). They also get orchard grass hay on the side. My question is "has anybody had problems with enteroliths in their minis?" I am thinking of changing their diets to hay, beet pulp and Enrich 32. Appreciate any input you all have on this and/or suggestions.

I've been feeding beet pulp for closer to 10 years without a problem, but high calcium can contribute. Alfalfa gets blamed for enteroliths for the same reason, and I did lose a geriatric big mare who was on lots of straight alfalfa, and proved to be full of enteroliths. Have not had a problem I can blame on beet pulp though, to date.

Jan

I think the AMOUNT of calcium overall in your feed might have something to do with entroliths. You can't just blame beet pulp. Perhaps a large amount of beet pulp, paired with a large amount of alfalfa... could contribute to them... but beet pulp is not necessarily something to avoid. That's just silly and illogical.

Andrea

I can remember when people fed a lot of bran and have stopped because it was blamed for entheroliths. I have been feeding beet pulp to all of my horses since about 1990 when a vet I worked for informed me about it. They fed it to their Clydsdales. I have never had any issue with a horse that was getting it.