Photo

Feeding Severly Underweight Pony Mare ((Pictures))

21 replies to this topic

#1 emnhorserider

emnhorserider

Addiction Free

• Pip
  • 13 posts

Posted 24 June 2009 - 04:59 PM

I am purchasing a underweight pony mare. She is 16 years old, about 12 hands palomino. Picking her up tomorrow. I need feeding advice. Her owner lacked in her nutritional needs, so she lost quite a bit of weight. A horse trader traded of his other horse for the little mare. I contacted him about her. His plans were to take her in her baby to auction. I decided I wanted to give her a shot.

I have very little experience with breeding. Have had 2 other foals and everything went well but their moms were in our care from beginning. .

Anyway she is pretty underweight. She should be foaling with in the next month or two apparently. What is the best route to go has for has feeding goes? She will have unlimited good quality coastal hay, mineral block. Thinking about mare plus with just a small amount of 12 % pelleted feed? Trying to figure out what is the best route to go. Any advice on her feeding would be greatly appreciated!

♥ ♥Check out the latest Lil Beginnings Featured Sale Board Ads HERE!

#2 muffntuf

muffntuf

Someone just shoot me!

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,691 posts

Posted 24 June 2009 - 05:14 PM

Do you know at all what she is getting right now?

Figure out how much underweight she is before you start taking action.

Visit Us At Triangle Acres
Home of ASPC:
Big N Rich FMF
Big N Rich I'M JUSTA PLAYBOY TAP
Big N Rich I"M JUSTA HOTTIE TAP
Triangle Acres Standing Ovation
I Like to Move It Move It TAP 2011 HOF MP Halter
AMHR: Sue's Lil' Laptop Angel
Daddly's Lil Dividend TAP
ASPR: Tulip
Lady Slipper
Synergy TAP - First inductee into the ASPR Halter Hall of Fame - 2011

#3 txminipinto

txminipinto

Someone just shoot me!

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,311 posts

Posted 24 June 2009 - 09:22 PM