Facial Razoring

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

shoeboxstables

Reaction score
Hi guys, we've had suggested to us that we should do facil razoring on our horses. Now I've seen some pretty aweful razor jobs, and I just want want ours to turn out like that. I have never done it before, and I just wanted to know what your opinions on it are, what's the best stuff to use, and any pictures or a good description of the exact process would be great. Also, our next show is this sunday, do you think it is worth it to attempt before then? It is a smaller show, but still. Both my horses are body clipped. One is a grey mare who has totally greyed out, and the other is a chest/white pinto with a primaly chestnut face. I do have other horses that I could test this on, but none are body clipped. Also, clipper with a #30 blade or a shap, good people razor? Any help or insight would be fantastic!

Thanks so much!

Kaitlyn Murray

First, it looks nicer if most of the head is already clipped w/a #30 about three days before the show, maybe 5 if you want a bit more hair. I've done it w/#10 or #15, but when you're body clipping with #30 (pretty much what's competitive out there for the sleekest look in the shows that show off body condition), if you have them clipped w/a #10 on the head, well, it makes the head look big.

Using them in the jowl area helps to fill this area out, though, to leave the hair a bit longer there, but everywhere else, blend it.

I use a #50 over the muzzle and then up to the noseband of my halters (sometimes I use a #40 to blend downward if I don't want to shave the entire muzzle up to the noseband, and it's just personal choice/asthetics, some horses just look awful done that way, others look great).