Driving Pairs

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MelodyPond

Reaction score
Hello! I am a newer driver but am working with a skilled trainer. I have 2 great minis that are good driving horses and I want to get them going as a pair eventually so I can work them at the same time and have a passenger now and then. I will be having the trainer help me with this but I was curious for those of you that drive pairs what kind of vehicle do you use?

At the moment I just have a cheap little easy entry I've been using to drive them singles. I do want to upgrade carts and I know I will have to get them a team harness so if you have any siuggeations for a good, lightweight team vehicle for minis I'd love to hear your thoughts!

I have heard conflicting opinions on the safety of using the little easy entry carts for pairs driving and I'd like to do trail driving with them eventually, at the moment just driving in my yard and on the back roads here.

Two wheeled carts are not a good choice for pairs as a rule. And definitely a bad choice for off road use. The main reason is balance. With a single horses in a two wheeled cart, that is perfectly balanced, the weight will "float" in the shafts. However once you head out on the trail, the balance will fluctuate between the back and the belly of the horse, as you go up and down the hills. When you drive a pair to a two wheeled vehicle that up and down is placed upon their necks. If you are only going to drive in a nicely groomed arena, with a perfectly balanced cart, maybe. Bit you, the driver must be active to maintain that balance as the horse's change gaits up and down, stop, back and move off. Add a passenger and they must be active too. I prefer my four wheel vehicles anytime I have a passenger, just makes my horse's job that much easier.