Some Snowy Pics

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MajorClementine

Reaction score
Went down to trim feet today and snapped a couple quick pics of the hairy yak beasts. I'm afraid I have my work cut out for me this spring getting the winter weight off these guys
default_smile.png

20170114_152927.jpg

Clementine is my bay driving mare. She is 6 years old. She was born the day my son came home from the NICU so it's easy to remember her age. I have been driving her for 3 years this summer. I sent her for 60 days of training and was told she took right to it. I also did some training since Clementine is my first driving horse.

Major is the paint gelding. He is 16 years old. I got him as a stallion because I fell in love with him when I went to pick Clementine up as a weanling. The woman who owned him offered him to me at a really low price because the City was on her to get rid of some. She had more animals than she was zoned for. So I bought him and got tired of keeping the two of them separated so I had him gelded 18 months later. He has decent genes, is registered, and has a beautiful personality but I never intended to breed him. I'll leave that to the pros
default_smile.png
I am hoping to start ground driving with Major this spring and we'll go from there.

20170114_160029.jpg

Who else uses hay nets? I started using one this spring and I love it. Usually they would have their hay gone in 15 minutes. Now they have hay up to 3-4 hours. And if they aren't that hungry they will walk away from it. When I fed in a bin they would gobble it all up no matter what.

They may not be as heavy as you think under that fur. But I don't think it hurts for them to carry a little extra in the winter cold.

I use a hay bag. I think they like it. I hang it on the fence between the pens and they can both eat.