Gelding Kevin

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Carly Rae

Reaction score
Hi,

So I really need to geld my 2 year old colt Kevin. He has been very 'studdish' and I am not experienced enough to handle a studdish horse. He is very strong and could become dangerous as I experienced today. He is normally very laid back and easygoing, now he isn't.

I just wanted to know that after gelding, will he go back to himself over time, could he stay the same as he is now, would he need a lot of training to get him back the same?

Is there anything I should know?

Thanks very much. Id really appreciate any advice!
default_smile.png

Kevin is the one whom you had asked questions about in the past, isn't he? If so, part of his issue is training. That was a lengthy thread with lots of solid, good advice on how to proceed with his training as well as many recommendations to get him castrated/gelded.

The training is the same.

Since he's now woken up to his hormone factory too, it may take a bit of time for him to "come back" to his previous self. Also understand - even at two - he is still very much a baby and is learning/coming into his personality. Gelding takes the hormones out of the equation, but doesn't mean he's going to become an angel overnight. And in between GREAT sessions of handling, he's probably going to still have some "bad boy" tantrums and fits. That's where your training/handling come in - to teach him that that isn't acceptable and to show him what is and how to do it.