Help With Show Behavior?

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tremor

Reaction score
I took my yearling filly to her third show this past weekend (the 9th) and I expected her to be decent. Not good or great. Decent. In my opinion she did.....passable. That isn't bad considering the work she's had and her surroundings.

I had been working with her on setting up correctly, standing still, and giving me some neck. (Stretching, lol) She's been doing great at home. I worked with her on it at the show before her class and she did pretty well. The thing was...when I was with her IN the show.

We were both confused. I did not think the judge did a very good job at all explaining what he wanted me to do. I've had very little show experience and in my opinion he kind of blew my class off. Not to mention that I was the only one, lol.

The judge made my filly extremely nervous when he was walking around her. I had worked with her on this as well while we were at home and before the show. She did fine, however when I went into the ring she wouldn't stand still at all.

I am curious how I could get her used to the ring? My mom and I were thinking about taking her out for "practice shows" just the two of us. We also decided to go to the show grounds early so that we could practice beforehand as well.

NOTE: I am not trying to blame everything on the judge. I don't think he handled the class well as he could have and I was completely confused. I think my filly would have done fine had I of moved her forward after I turned her towards the judge (after I was told to trot away from him...which was my only instruction)

No thread is complete without pictures....

Before the class (Beware her awful clip job!)

411247_320107461409136_369406893_o.jpg

During the show:

562211_320107468075802_1794058541_n.jpg

411247_320107471409135_1223598611_o.jpg