What do you look for in a good driving horse?

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JaiteraMiniatures

Reaction score
I know everyone's opinion on this will differ, but what do you look for in good driving horse? A certain conformation, height, personality? Can any Mini drive (pleasure) or are there certain things a horse would have to have before you'd ever think of training them to drive? Thanks.

i think the biggest thing for me is how they react when they are spooked. if they automatically take off at full speed over a plastic bag-no go! if they back up a little and snort, thats good enough for me!

the next thing i look at is conformation. if the horse has anything seriously wrong-roached back, bowed legs, etc- i dont even hitch em'.

height isnt real big for me. IMO, most little ones can pull just as well as the 'big' ones!

I am not an expert at this but have several minis that I am training to drive all are different. Mine with the willingness to work are progressing faster than my strong minded ones.( I know Chief will be fancy in the harness but man he is a handful! )

With riding horses I always would take a horse that was willing over a fancy show horse that had a nasty attitude towards work! I could make the homeliest horse preform beautiful dressage all because they wanted to learn!

We have a pony that I have "retired" from driving ( and riding for that matter) because of his nasty habit of kicking when handling his hind feet. I am sure someone could work with it but I don't care to take the risk of getting kicked and he makes a wonderful companion pony
default_yes.gif

Sum it up

Go attitude, sound, reasonable height for the minis ( I have a 29" that is as small as I am willing to drive) the rest is up to the training
default_yes.gif