Best Easy Entry Cart Suspension/Axle/Springs

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

KellyAlaska

Reaction score
I am new to mini horses and driving but am in the process of purchasing my first driving horse. He is around 35.5/36. He is a double registered Shetland and Mini horse. We currently live in Alaska so the majority of my driving for the next few years will be on a dirt road and in fields/trails. I want to find a cart that is both comfortable and well balanced for my new horse as well as easy on my back. I have been looking at all the forums but cannot seem to find out what axle/springs/suspension gives the best ride. I have included the names of the different options as well as links to the actual carts I am considering. (I am not even sure if all of these carts are still available. I have contacted a few of these vendors and have not received a response.) Any experience/advice about these carts or types of suspensions would be greatly appreciated. I am open to either a wooden or metal easy entry or trail type cart. When we return to the lower 48 I hope to start showing in pleasure classes and would like try combined driving as well. I would like to keep the cart around $1000 if possible.

Leaf Springs

http://www.ttminihorse.com/tackstore/index.php?act=viewProd&productId=171

Elliptical Springs

http://www.nwminitack.com/cart_pleasure.html

http://www.ccfdriving.com/Mini%20Road%20Cart.htm

Suspension with shocks

http://hstrial-lbateman.homestead.com/Eazyrider/ERMini.html

http://edentackandtails.com/Carts.htm

Torsion Axle

http://www.thebuggylady.com/scotsmancart.html

Super Ride Suspension

Mini Crown from Pennsylvania (this is not the actual vendors website)

http://www.crossfieldcarriage.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=8:mini-crown&catid=2:bell-crown-usa&Itemid=19

C Spring