can worming cause colic?

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

My2Minis

Reaction score
My mini colicked a couple of days ago. I wormed her Sunday, and she colicked Wednesday. I'm wondering if there is a link between the two. She had no worms on her FEC in the fall, and the wormer I used was Zimectrin Gold and I used the amount for her weight.

Was it coincidence that it happened so soon after worming? The weather also changed from very cold to warm right before she colicked, and I heard that can cause colic.

I'm trying to find out how to prevent it from happening again
default_sad.png
. People have told me minis are prone to colic, and I am relatively new to minis. I've been fortunate to not have had a horse colic before this, and it was scary- she went from a little off to laying down within a short time, so we got her up and called the vet. She got better with banamine and walking.